Think it’s time to go..

Yes, I think I’ll take a hiatus from the blog…which is just my diary.

I went on Thursday afternoon for yet another legal advice appointment, this time the one who dealt with my divorce 14 years ago and the property settlement. This is the expensive one, the one who really knows his stuff – property, divorce, family law. I’ve been to 4 now, over the past 10 years since I built this house.

I paid $165 for about 25 minutes. I saw the same person as I did 14 years ago, I got the same advice as the others, just more clear and concise.

My kids can’t get anything from this place, and from all the money I’ve put into it if I pass away. That’s it, not unless they have a lot of money, A LOT, to fight for it, which they don’t. That’s just the law. And the law is on Mark’s side. I might as well have given him a gift of $300,000 which is ironic considering that in the past 13 years, he’s never given me a cent, or gifts… and he’s taken and taken.

If he had put my name on the title as I asked back when I started building the house, it would be a bit easier, but still a battle – I also found out that its only about $200 to do that even now – would have been less 10 years ago. He made me think it was thousands and that I was being untrusting of him – and unbelievably that’s when I did trust him – hard to believe but I said once to someone at my old work “I’d trust this man with my life.” Which is many things…but sad in the extreme that I really thought that once.

If I go I’d get half of what this place is worth or almost – that is a given.

If he gets an inheritance while I’m here, I have no claim on any of it, which is understandable, but knowing the man we’re dealing with, galling as well. Because if he did get anything, there’s no way on earth he’d give me so much as a cent…and he’d keep it secretly from me anything he would get – (wouldn’t matter even if we played happy families…he’d still not give me one cent of his – never has. Has always been secretive right from the start. Any time he’s got money from tax, selling his truck, the milk business…he’s never told me what he’s got…ever).  All that would do is if I left, I’d be entitled to a little more than my share of this place, maybe…because he has so much more than me, but certainly not any of his inheritance. Ironic again, eh, as when I met him he had this land…no house, a mortgage on it, which he still has. He now has a lovely home, concrete pool…

Yeah, I could go on and on. But what’s the point.

For this moment in time I just need to focus on my loved ones.

 

All the stuff, the staff at work and the 60th, the bed and breakfast instead of The Hydro Majestic, it’s just fluff…a laugh, a whine…it’s not real, it doesn’t matter…it’s just a way of me stepping out of the anxiety and depression for a while – to ramble about the kind of stuff that is ‘normal’ for most people.

Sunday 18th June.

 

 

Leave a comment